The Allure Blog

The 4 C’s of Diamonds: Evaluating Diamond Quality

Image default
Beauty Products Reviews

The 4 C’s of Diamonds: Evaluating Diamond Quality Each of the 4 C’s (Cut, Color, Clarity, then Carat) plays a role in a diamond’s beauty, although it is difficult to decipher one component on its own. As a whole, The 4 C’s of Diamonds with each other within each diamond. The most important object when selecting a diamond is the cut as a general rule of pollex. This dramatically impacts the symmetry and brilliance of a diamond; likewise, considering the balance between Color and Clarity will result in a perfect diamond regardless of a carat.

What are the 4 C’s of diamonds?

The 4 C’s of a diamond represent the four main components of its structure: Cut, Color, Clarity, and Carat. When looking at a diamond, the eye perceives a balance between each characteristic, making it look magnificent.

Each of the C has its respective classification to assess quality. Although there is a universal terminology and a standard type, it varies according to the laboratory that certifies the piece. The most consistent objects (and the ones we recommend obtaining a certificate from) are the GIA and the AGS.

The gradients of the 4 C’s help determine a diamond’s value and indicate its quality. Knowing the basics of these gradings is very helpful when comparing two similar diamonds. Since as a buyer, you can select a diamond according to the characteristics that you consider most important, and it will help you choose the ideal diamond for your partner.

Each of the 4 C’s contributes to the overall beauty of a diamond and makes each stone unique. A diamond, however, must be seen as an organic whole. Because the eye has difficulty differentiating a component on its own, such as Clarity or Color, it is essential to consider how the 4 Cs impact each other.

To evaluate a diamond using the 4 C’s, consider the following:

Cut: Cut the main focus during your search. A good amount impacts the beauty of a diamond. Look for high levels of brilliance and passion, and be willing to cut back on other areas such as Clarity or Color to ensure exceptional balance in your diamond.

Color: A diamond should appear white or colorless to the naked eye. However, some options give yellowish tones that look exquisite with specific mounts.

Clarity: Choose a diamond that is clear of eyes. Inclusions exist in all diamonds; consider those that do not overshadow the beauty of the diamond.

Carat / Caratage: Caratage is the weight that your diamond will have. Here it would help if you considered the ideal weight and shape of the diamond for your partner’s ring.

The cut is the element that reveals the brilliance of the diamond. It is the only criterion among the 4Cs that depends on the human savior faire. The amount or carved refers to the proportions of the stone. Diamond sparkles and shines depending on its size. If its proportions are not correct, it will shine less because the light inside it will not reflect correctly.

Brilliant Cut Diamond

The best known and most widespread. The shape is round with 57 facets or sides (58 if the vertex is truncated, culet). It is the way to cut a diamond with which the best angles are obtained so that the diamond shines with its maximum brilliance (better returns the light) and better takes advantage of the weight of the stone. Being the brightest, it is by far the most popular.

Princess Cut Diamond

It is a perfectly square cut. A princess-cut diamond has 76 facets, which gives it a sparkling appearance. It can achieve almost the same brilliance as a brilliant cut diamond, so it is also one of the most popular and used in jewelry.

Pear Cut Diamond

Aesthetically, it is a carving in the form of a drop of water or a tear. It is an intermediate form between the brilliant cut and the marquise cut. The rounded part is the brightest. On the other hand ,The 4 C’s of Diamonds  the luminosity is reflected more difficultly at the tip. It is a highly flattering size in elongated jewelry designs such as earrings and chokers.

Baguette Cut Diamond


It is rectangular cut size. Usually, 48 or 50 facets in the form of rows of stairs. Its peculiarity lies in the rectangular cut of the diamond base to create a sensation of maximum transparency and brilliance. It is an amount. Therefore, that is better adapte to stones of high clarity (minimum impurities) and transparent color; since it tends to highlight the possible inclusions of the diamond.

Oval Cut Diamond

It is an oval or elliptical cut. Its shape is based on modifications of the traditional round brilliant configuration. They usually have a shine similar to brilliant cut as they also have 56 facets. It is a very appreciate size to use in rings because its elongate shape helps stylize the fingers’ silhouette elegantly and is very flattering on small hands.

Heart Cut Diamond

It is a cut modifi in the shape of a heart, starting from a brilliant scratch. Is a “fantasy” cut. It characterize by having 59 facets. In this case, the cutter guarantees the symmetry and balance of the stone while the polisher brings out the brilliance of the diamond.

Marquise Cut Diamond

It has an elongated shape ending in a point at both ends. It is highly luminous in the center, but its sparkles are less at the tips. This cut allows for maximizing the carats extracted from a stone, obtaining a larger diamond. Like the brilliant cut, it consists of 57 facets, but the elaboration of the aspects is much more complicated; it requires a lot of experience, and the fragility of the tips demands the most excellent precaution. The result is a very styliz piece that looks great in jewelry, especially rings.


diamond quality

Color is one of the essential characteristics of a diamond: the whiter (transparent), the more beautiful, rare, and valuable. To determine the clarity or transparency of a diamond, a color scale divides the color grades from D to Z. Scale established by the GIA (Gemological Institute of America) admitted internationally.

Color D corresponds to the most transparent or white, and color Z corresponds to the worst quality yellow or brown. As one moves from D to Z on the standard color scale, an increasing yellow and brown hues level  indicate.

The diamonds out of this scale, when appraising them, are fantasy ones. These value according to different criteria than the previous ones. When the color is rare (blue, red…) and the more intense it is, the more expensive it becomes. Fancy diamonds are the most valuable and costly due to their rarity and exceptionality.


You want to base your purchase on what it looks like to the naked eye. Just as that saying goes. “don’t judge a book by its cover,” you also don’t want to judge a diamond by its certificate. If you need more information about the 4 C’s of diamonds in order of importance, check out our video about the Cut, Color, and Clarity of Diamonds.

Also read : Platinum vs. White Gold vs. Palladium

Users also Read